Author Topic: BP Silhouette  (Read 8957 times)

Offline Qball

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
BP Silhouette
« on: March 13, 2004, 04:05:04 AM »
We shoot IHMSA Silhouette in my club and i've heard of
blackpowder silhouette, could someone fill me in on that.
regulations and stuff.
Thank You
WartHog
SCORRS
SootLord
STORM

Offline Shiloh Sharpie

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: BP Silhouette
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2004, 01:50:19 PM »
BPCR silhouette is my first love.  I drive almost 400 miles the second Sunday of the month to do this.  I started using a Husqvarna Rolling Block which was built by Jon King of Kila MT.  It is a .45-90 and I shot it from Dec of 1998 to December of 2000.  I started shooting a 24 and ended up a master shooter in that timeframe.  I now shoot a Meacham HiWall action with double set triggers and also built by John King.  It was not the shooter the roller was until recently.  I have not shot so regularly since 2000 and I just shot my 12th match with the HiWall.  It is beginning to shoot real well.  Both these rifles are the same .45-90 caliber but with using swiss powder (number 1 or 1.5 F) a .45-70 would suffice in terms of velocity and wind bucking, but the .45-90 has that little extra that may be the difference on windy days. Recoil management is personal and I feel I handle it pretty well, but I would not get a stouter caliber than the .45-90 for any reason.  The most popular caliber is .40-65.   .38-55 caliber is getting more use.  This is again due to the Swiss powder and its increased velocity.  Noone (where I shoot) uses BP substitutes, although Pyrodex - and only Pyrodex - is approved.  It just isn't as accurate out to 500 meters as BP.  Acceptable accuracy for all distances is 1.5 MOA or better, with better being necessary for master class and winning matches.  You will cast your own bullets because no one can cast them for you with adequate quality, and the various reloading components and equipment is a major