Author Topic: Want to Load BP in My .44 Special  (Read 7493 times)

Offline Cholla Hill Tirador

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 16
Want to Load BP in My .44 Special
« on: June 11, 2014, 10:56:58 PM »
 So I've been shooting CAS off and on for a couple of years now. I shoot .44 Specials and thought I might try BP in them. Currently I shoot a Cimarron 1873 lever, a 4 3/4" Uberti 1873 and a 7 1/2" Open Top.

I'm a little apprehensive about the clean up and potential corrosion issues. The revolvers are no problem to tear down and clean, but gawd I hate the thought of disassembling the lever rifle after every shoot!

I load a home-cast 170 gr. RNFP typically cast from WW's to a Bhn of 12-13. Are these bullets soft enough? Also I lube them with Scarlet Ceresin lube which is a little firm and requires heat. Will this lube work OK?

How much BP would I need for a 650 +/- fps load out of my revolvers?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Pettifogger

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 19
Re: Want to Load BP in My .44 Special
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 11:11:58 PM »
So I've been shooting CAS off and on for a couple of years now. I shoot .44 Specials and thought I might try BP in them. Currently I shoot a Cimarron 1873 lever, a 4 3/4" Uberti 1873 and a 7 1/2" Open Top.

I'm a little apprehensive about the clean up and potential corrosion issues. The revolvers are no problem to tear down and clean, but gawd I hate the thought of disassembling the lever rifle after every shoot!

I load a home-cast 170 gr. RNFP typically cast from WW's to a Bhn of 12-13. Are these bullets soft enough? Also I lube them with Scarlet Ceresin lube which is a little firm and requires heat. Will this lube work OK?

Thanks in advance.